An Official Site
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Centerline Passing and No Passing Zone Logs

Click on the county you would like information for:
(Note: you will be directed to the corresponding district’s Centerline Passing and No Passing Zone Log page and where access to the county files will be available. More detailed instructions and links for each of the district also follows below the map.)

ODOT District Map, Click a county/district to visit its Centerline Passing and No Passing Zone Logs. District 1 District 2 District 3 District 4 District 5 District 6 District 7 District 8 District 9 District 10 District 11 District 12  


 Access to Center Line Passing/No Passing Logs for State Routes Maintained by ODOT:


 Zone Log Information and References


Section 3B.02 of the Ohio Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices (OMUTCD) state in part "On two-way, two or three-lane roadways where center line markings are installed, no-passing zones shall be established at vertical and horizontal curves and other locations where an engineering study indicates that passing must be prohibited because of inadequate site distances or other special conditions." OMUTCD Figure 3B-5 gives the method of locating and determing the limits of no-passing zones at curves.

OMUTCD Section 3B.02 also makes clear that there is no requirement that no-passing zones be marked at intersections. No-passing zones may be marked at rural and urban intersections when engineering judgment so dictates. The decision as to whether or not a no-passing zone should be marked at intersections is a matter of discretionary engineering judgment. It should be noted that whether or not a no-passing zone is marked at an intersection section 4511.30 of the Ohio Revised Code prohibits vehicles driving on the left side of the road "when approaching within one hundred feet of or traversing any intersection or railroad grade crossing."

As noted above, studies are made to establish where no-passing zone markings are installed. The resulting logs are the used to mark the no-passing and passing zones. The logs may be accessed from this page; however, the logs are maintained by each ODOT District.