Ohio.gov State Agencies  |  Online Services
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

The Ohio Department of Transportation’s Highway Safety Improvement Program provides funding for safety improvements on any public roadway in the state.  In an effort to assist our local partners, we have work very closely with the County Engineer’s Association of Ohio (CEAO) and the Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP).  A large percentage of fatal and serious injury crashes occur on the local system and it will be essential to work with local authorities to continue to reduce these severe crashes around the state.

The CEAO has assembled a safety subcommittee that reviews applications annually for safety improvements.  These members review applications and recommend projects for funding.  The committee consists of Ohio County Engineers, an ODOT Representative, and a Program Funding Manager.  For more information about the programs offered by the CEAO, please visit their website.  For convenience their funding applications are provided below.  For county road specific crash frequency maps, pleas click here.
LTAP has been a great help reaching out to the local governments.  They provide training to help local governments perform safety analysis as well as performing Roadway Safety Audits (RSA).  Most recently, LTAP has been working with rural townships to upgrade warning signage.  For township crash point maps, please click here.
We are currently piloting a signing program with a large metropolitan planning organization (MPO).  As this program develops, information will be posted.  An MPO coordinates improvements within major urban areas for multiple municipalities.

​County Maps

Township Maps​




 CEAO Funding Applications (Updated 8/2/12)

expand Category : FY2014 ‎(9)
expand Category : FY2013 ‎(9)



For Crash Data Analysis:
Derek Troyer
(614) 387-5164

For ODOT HSIP Program:
Michelle May
(614) 644-8309

For LTAP Township Program:
Victoria Beale
(614) 466-3129
For CEAO HSIP Program:
Michele Risko
(614) 221-0707