Ohio.gov State Agencies  |  Online Services
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
Research, Development & Technology Transfer (RD&T2)
Manual of Procedures

Chapter 3 - Program Development: National


The American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing highway and transportation departments in the 50 States, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. It represents all five transportation modes: air, highways, public transportation, rail and water. Its primary goal is to foster the development, operation and maintenance of an integrated national transportation system.

AASHTO has various programs and groups that investigate specific transportation issues. Examples of these programs include the National Transportation Product Evaluation Program and the Environmental Technical Assistance Program. State DOTs are able to participate in these programs by providing an annual membership fee. ODOT actively participates in some of these groups based on the agency’s current focus and direction.

In addition to participating in various AASHTO programs, the manager of ODOT’s research program serves on AASHTO’s Research Advisory Committee (RAC). The RAC is an advisory committee to AASHTO’s Standing Committee on Research (SCOR). RAC’s mission is to promote quality and excellence in both research and the application of research findings to improve state transportation systems.