Ohio.gov State Agencies  |  Online Services
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In
Division of Planning
Statewide Planning & Research
Rural Planning

​On July 1, 2013, ODOT began a two-year pilot program with five multi-county planning organizations (or councils of government) providing them with funding to conduct regional transportation planning in coodination with local stakeholers, Ohio MPOs, and ODOT. Much of Ohio's non-metropolitan local official coordination occurs between ODOT and these organizations. The five organizations, known as RTPOs, cover 34 non-metropolitan counties in Ohio.

These RTPOs along with Economic Develoment Districts (EDDs), County Engineers, County Commissioners, Public Transit Agencies, City Councils, Mayors and Township Trustees act as Ohio's stakeholders in the Rural Consultation Process.


 Ohio's RTPOs


 ODOT's Rural Consultation Process


 Related Documents & Links

ODOT Programs



​Andrew Shepler
(614) 466-2348