Ohio.gov State Agencies  |  Online Services
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Ohio Department of Transportation
U.S. Bicycle Route 50 in Ohio


The Ohio Department of Transportation is requesting that 38 local governments throughout Ohio join us by providing a resolution of support to designate a national bike route through our state.  The deadline to submit the resolution to ODOT is April 1.  


The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) has designated a west-east corridor crossing the center of the state to be developed as United States Bike Route 50 (USBR 50).  USBR 50 will be part of a national network of bicycle routes, which will link urban, suburban, and rural areas using a variety of existing cycling facilities.
Bicycle tourism is a growing industry that contributes $47 billion a year to communities that provide these facilities.  A national bike route designation is expected to draw experienced riders from throughout the country, and connect scenic, cultural and historic destinations and attractions. 
USBR 50 will go from California to Washington D.C. In Ohio, USBR 50 runs from Paint Road in Preble County at the Indiana border, through 11 counties[i]. The route passes over to West Virginia on the Market Street Bridge in Jefferson County. Eighteen jurisdictions in Ohio have confirmed interest by providing resolutions of support for the route. 
Indiana and West Virginia are concurrently working to designate their respective portions of USBR 50. All three States have agreed to the route where the states meet.
To date, 5,973 miles of U.S. Bike Routes have been established in 12 states: Alaska, Kentucky, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. Currently, more than 40 states are working to create U.S. Bicycle Routes.
On April 1, 2014, ODOT will submit an application to the AASHTO Special Committee on U.S. Route Numbering. The application will detail the route (US Bike Route 50 Proposed Route) and include resolutions from each jurisdiction along the route.  The alternate routes will not be part of the application. All the jurisdictions must submit resolutions for Ohio to secure the national designation.
I encourage you to call you ODOT District Bicycle Pedestrian contact for more information and to initiate this process.
Click here for the Resolution Tally.
Click Here for a sample resolution.

[i] Preble, Montgomery, Greene, Clark, Madison, Franklin, Licking, Muskingum, Guernsey, Harrison and Jefferson