Ohio’s Move Over Law requires motorists to cautiously shift over one lane — or slow down if changing lanes is not possible — when passing any vehicle with flashing lights on the side of a road. Its purpose is to protect everyone who works on our roads and everyone who travels on them. Click here for more information on this law.
The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) is also committed to our Work Zone Safety and Distracted Driving Campaign aimed at educating young drivers, as well as motorists of all ages, to Look Up, Hang Up, and go ‘Slow for the Cone Zone’ when traveling through a construction zone.
Whether you are on your daily commute during the week, traveling to visit family and friends or running errands during the weekend, remember that when you see an orange barrel toLook Up, Hang Up and Go Slow For the cone Zone!
Textingencompasses allthree types ofdistractions!
If you're under age 18:*It is illegal to use any electronic wireless communications device while driving in Ohio.This means:
--- Even when you are sitting at a light or stuck in traffic It's a Primary Offense: Law enforcement can stop you for any of the above reasons.
Adult drivers (18 years or older):*It is Illegal to use a handheld electronic wireless communications device to write, send or read a text while driving in Ohio.Minor misdemeanor, could face a fine of up to $150
Read the entire law