MARIETTA (Thursday, September 2, 2010) - At the Ohio Department of Transportation’s (ODOT) annual TeamUp and Roadeo, held at the Ohio State fairgrounds on September 1, 2010, four ODOT District 10 employees were recognized for their dedication and support of ODOT’s mission, values and goals

In its twelfth year, TeamUp brings together all ODOT districts to share best practices and innovations incorporated throughout the year. The Roadeo, in its twenty-fourth year, is an obstacle course for snow plow truck and loader operators to showcase their operating skills and to compete for best operator in the state.

During the TOPS Awards ceremony at TeamUp, District 10 Highway Administrator Jamie Hendershot from Noble County was awarded the SERVICE award for embodying ODOT’s SERVICE Pledge. In addition, District 10 Real Estate Office Assistant Ashley Gates from Washington County was awarded the Outstanding External Customer Service Award for her exceptional customer service with processing permit applications.

Six other District 10 staff members were TOPS Awards nominees including Lisa Robertson, Alan Craig, David Rose, the Monroe County Maintenance Facility, Matthew Todd Engle and Brad Gardner.

During the Roadeo competition, Noble County Highway Technician Alan Murray placed second in the state in the snow plow operator competition and Meigs County Highway Technician Marvin Taylor placed third in the state in the loader competition.

Other District 10 Roadeo participants include Hocking County Highway Technician Rick Vandine and Vinton County Highway Technician Brent Peters.

"District 10 employees are some of the best in the state," said District 10 Deputy Director Karen Pawloski. "It’s great to see our hard working team get the recognition they deserve."

This year, District 10 shared its operational safety innovations and practices as well as its safety partnership with the Ohio State High Patrol who was represented by State Highway Patrol Lieutenant Mary Pfeiffer from the Washington County Post.