Ohio.gov State Agencies  |  Online Services
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

E. 14th Street ramp to I-90 westbound to reopen as slope repair work takes place


October 22, 2008, 11:55 AM, Garfield Heights, OHThe Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) has reopened the E. 14th Street onramp to I-90 westbound amid closures of both the E. 14th Street and E. 21st Street ramps to I-77 southbound.  The E. 14th Street onramp was reopened this morning after engineers observed traffic patterns for safety.  ODOT is taking this action in order to accommodate motorists and avoid additional congestion in the area.

The E. 14th Street ramp to I-90 westbound will remain open for approximately two weeks or until November 5 as the slope repair project progresses.

The E. 14th and 21st Street ramps as well as the left lane of the I-90 westbound ramp to I-77 southbound will remain closed for approximately two weeks or until November 5 as repairs are made.  Slope issues have undermined the shoulder at the junction of the I-90 westbound to I-77 southbound ramp and I-77 northbound to I-90 westbound ramp.

East 14th and 21st Street traffic may detour via Orange Avenue southbound to I-77 southbound.

The above mentioned ramps are critical routes while lanes are closed on the I-90 Innerbelt Bridge therefore, ODOT has accelerated the sale and construction of this project.

The Ontario Street, E. 9th Street & I-77 northbound ramps to I-90 westbound and Ontario Street ramp to I-77 southbound remain closed following inspection of the I-90 Innerbelt Bridge. 

All dates and times are approximate and weather dependent.

District 12 provides updated traffic information for Cuyahoga, Geauga and Lake counties on the Internet at www.dot.state.oh.us/dist12/ or statewide construction and road condition information at www.buckeyetraffic.org.

Join the Transportation Conversation at http://TransportationForTomorrow.ohio.gov



Jocelynn Clemings 216.584.2006 or Faye Callahan 216.584.2005

Ted Strickland, Governor             James G. Beasley, P.E., P.S., ODOT Director      Bonita G Teeuwen P.E., ODOT District 12 Director