Ohio.gov State Agencies  |  Online Services
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

State Route 86 Relocation Project Accelerated

Painesville, Concord & Painesville Townships

June 20, 2008, Garfield Heights, OH The Ohio Department of Transportation and contractor Anthony Allega Cement have proposed an accelerated project timeline which would see the completion of the SR 86 relocation project nearly one full year in advance.


The project, which began in July 2007 was originally intended to be complete during the late summer/early fall of 2009, but with the new accelerated timeline the project may be completed this construction season.


“We understand the impact this project has had on the local community and we are pleased to announce this new accelerated timeline,” said Ronald Valdman, P.E., ODOT District 12 Area Engineer, who oversees the project.


In order to accomplish the proposed new timeline work which will close State Route 84 to eastbound traffic between Ravenna Road and State Route 86 will begin on or around Monday, June 16, 2008.  Westbound traffic will be maintained.  Eastbound traffic will be detoured via State Route 44 north to State Route 2 east to State Route 535 south to State Route 20 west and back to State Route 84/86.


State Route 84 eastbound will remain closed through late summer/early fall 2008.


State Route 86 remains closed between Big Creek and the City of Painesville water tower.  Local traffic is maintained from Big Creek to Helen Hazen Park from the south only.  This closure will remain in effect until approximately November 15, 2008.  Detours are posted. 


All dates and times are approximate and weather dependent.


District 12 provides updated traffic information for Cuyahoga, Geauga and Lake counties on the Internet at www.dot.state.oh.us/dist12/ or statewide construction and road condition information at www.buckeyetraffic.org.

Join the Transportation Conversation at http://TransportationForTomorrow.ohio.gov



Jocelynn Clemings 216.584.2006 or Faye Callahan 216.584.2005

Ted Strickland, Governor             James G. Beasley, P.E., P.S., ODOT Director      Bonita G Teeuwen P.E., ODOT District 12 Director