For informational/historical purposes only.


Ohio Department of Transportation Internet News Release
June 20, 2002


Columbus - Two Ohio roads were recently added to the federal governments National Scenic Byways Program. The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) designated the Historic National Road in Ohio an All-American Road, and named the Amish County Scenic Byway a National Scenic Byway.

The Amish County Byway is comprised of a number of state routes in Holmes County. The Historic National Road (U.S. 40) is the first federally supported road in U.S. history. It stretches from Maryland to Illinois. In Ohio, the byway extends from the Ohio River at Bridgeport to the Indiana line, a distance of 230 miles.

"It is a great honor for Ohio to receive two more nationally designated scenic byways including our first All-American Road designation," said ODOT Director Gordon Proctor. "We encourage everyone to visit and travel all of Ohio's 14 scenic byways and enjoy the activities they have to offer."

Under the National Scenic Byways Program, the U.S. Secretary of Transportation recognizes certain roads as National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads based on their archaeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational and scenic qualities.

To be designated as a National Scenic Byway, a road must possess at least one of these qualities and be regionally significant. To receive an All-American Road designation, a road must possess multiple intrinsic qualities that are nationally significant and have one-of-a-kind features that do not exist elsewhere. The road or highway must also be considered a "destination unto itself." That is, the road must provide an exceptional traveling experience so recognized by travelers that they would make a drive along the highway a primary reason for their trip.

The National Scenic Byways Program, established by Congress in 1991 and administered by the U.S. Department of Transportations Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), was created to preserve and protect the nation's scenic byways and, at the same time, promote tourism and economic development. Participation in the program is voluntary and may encompass any public road or highway. With these new designations, there are 75 National Scenic Byways and 20 All-American Roads in 39 states, including 9 with portions in more than one state. Ohio now has three National Scenic Byways and one All-American Road. For additional information or to obtain brochures and maps, call 1-800-4-BYWAYS (1-800-429-9297) or through the National Scenic Byways Program website,