For informational/historical purposes only.


Ohio Department of Transportation Internet News Release
September 16, 2002

ODOT Breaks Ground for U.S. 35 Project

Project will complete southern Ohio corridor from Dayton to Gallipolis

Chillicothe Ohio Department of Transportation Director Gordon Proctor today joined state and local officials and members of the community to commemorate the beginning of construction for the final leg of the U.S. Route 35 corridor in southern Ohio. The project in Ross County is scheduled to be completed by early November 2004.

"This project is a significant achievement for southern Ohio and a vital accomplishment in our effort to increase safety and mobility," said Proctor. "It represents Governor Tafts focus to improve the states highway network and keep Ohio competitive in the 21st century.

The project will replace the existing 9.4-mile, two-lane section of U.S. Route 35 between Chillicothe and Richmond Dale with a divided, limited access four-lane highway. This is the last step of the plan to construct the entire corridor, making the route a four-lane highway from Dayton to Gallipolis. Currently, contractors are working on a project in Fayette County that will complete a portion of the corridor.

"This is the areas biggest highway project to date, and its completion means a lot to improving transportation for all motorists who travel this increasingly busy route," said ODOT District 9 Deputy Director John F. Hagen. "While projects such as this are key to preserving an areas character, they are also significant toward improving traffic flow, safety and accessibility."

The Kokosing Construction Company was awarded a $45 million contract in April to build the final leg of the bypass. Although major earth moving has already begun, there has been little to no impact to traffic during this phase of the project because major construction is taking place off the existing route.

ODOTs District 9 office is responsible maintenance and preservation activities on the state highway system for Adams, Brown, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, and Scioto counties in southern Ohio.