For informational/historical purposes only.


 Ohio Department of Transportation  Internet News Release
September 17, 2004

Transportation department recognized for commitment to outstanding performance

 Columbus Ohio Department of Transportation Director Gordon Proctor announced today eight ODOT district offices received recognition from the Ohio Awards for Excellence (OAE).  The awards were presented at the OAE annual conference held in Columbus.

 I commend ODOT for their on-going work to improve Ohios infrastructure, said Governor Bob Taft.  Their commitment to operational improvement is helping to increase the safety and mobility of our highways throughout the state.

 The OAE is a non-profit organization, and recognizes excellence in Ohio enterprises based on the world class Malcolm Baldrige criteria.  The assessment criteria measures an organizations performance on a wide range of key indicators including customer service, long-term planning, leadership and business results.  Applicants choosing to participate in the OAE process are evaluated using the Baldrige process for performance excellence.  The participating organizations are then assigned a Tier I, II, III, or IV, with IV being the highest level, based upon the evaluation.

 This year, ODOTs District 12 office (Garfield Heights) was the first state organization in Ohio to receive a level III ranking.  Additionally, four ODOT districts District 5 (Jacksontown), District 6 (Delaware), District 8 (Lebanon) and District 9 (Chillicothe) were awarded level I status. Also three ODOT district offices District 3 (Ashland), District 4 (Ravenna), and District 7 (Sidney) were awarded level II status.

 The awards are a tribute to our continual efforts to improve the service we provide to those traveling in Ohio, said Proctor. Each of the districts worked to improve operations during the past year, and the OAE awards acknowledge those efforts.

 This years OAE conference held Sept. 15 through Sept. 17 featured workshops and panel discussions on various performance excellence topics.  Since 1998, the OAE has been committed to formally recognizing Ohio-based organizations that have achieved measurable, continuous improvement and utilized outstanding processes to achieve performance excellence. The OAE consists of a 21-member Board of Trustees, 80 council members and 200 board examiners. Patterned after the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award the most prestigious award for organizational excellence in the country the OAE has served 168 businesses and educational, healthcare, government and not-for-profit organizations. The award has reached more than 250,000 organizational employees in the state of Ohio.